Kenya is located on the East Coast of Africa. It lies across the equator and covers an area of 582,646 Km2. It is geo-strategically located at the confluence of the Great Lakes, Horn of Africa and the Indian Ocean contiguity, making it a gateway to Africa’s major trading blocs such as the East African Community (EAC) and the Common MARKET for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

It shares a border with Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west, South Sudan to the north-west, Ethiopia to the north and Somalia to the north-east. Kenya also has a maritime border of 536Km along the Indian Ocean.

Kenya is host to the United Nations headquarters in Africa, and forms a vibrant community of several UN agencies that include; the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) both of which have their headquarters in Nairobi.

Other agencies with Regional offices in Nairobi include the FAO, IFAD, ICAO, ILO, IMO, IMF, UNIFEM, UNDP, UNODC, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNICEF, UNPOS, UNPF, UNAIDS, World Bank, WFP, WHO and UNCRD.

Kenya has a population of over 47 Million people. Nairobi is the capital city with a population of over 4 Million people. Other cities are Mombasa and Kisumu. There are two official languages in Kenya; Kiswahili and English. Kiswahili is also the national language.

Rolar para cima